Monday, December 15, 2014

More Tertiary Institutions Establish Affiliation With UDS

Prof. Haruna Yakubu

Three private tertiary institutions in Ghana have successfully established affiliation with the University for Development Studies (UDS) to enable the latter guide them to run quality academic programmes.  

The institutions are the Withrow University College in Agona in the Ashanti Region and the Technical University College of Tamale and Health Assistants Training School at Yendi in the Northern Region.

A report dubbed “Vice Chancellor’s Report” sighted by Savannahnews, said the affiliation was granted to all three institutions following the fulfilment of certain conditions and signing of a memorandum of understanding (MoU) between the institutions and UDS.

According to the report, the signing of the MoU with the institutions brings the total number of affiliated institutions with UDS to seven. They include Ghana Christian University College (GCU), Accra, Premier Nurses’ Training College (PNTC), Kumasi, International Centre for Management Studies (ICMS), Tamale, and New Life College (NLC), Tamale.

The report indicated that, “the Administrative and Technical Committees of the Directorate of Academic Quality Assurance (DAQA)” also “assessed the facilities of Neumann College, Kumasi and the University College for Community and Organisational Development, Sunyani as part of the processes to determine their qualification for affiliation”.

Other institutions that applied for affiliation but yet to be assessed and granted affiliation are: Golden Sunbeam International College of Science and Technology, Accra, University College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies, Accra, Sikkim Manipal University, Accra, KAAF University College, Accra, High Skies College, Tema, and DHI College of Health and Education, Kumasi.

“ must be registered as a tertiary institution, the location of your school is also important, have learning materials, physical infrastructure including adequate lecture halls, recognition from regulatory bodies such NABPTEX and NCTE, etc are requirements an institution need to meet before they’re granted affiliation” Registrar of the UDS Dr. A.B.T Zakaria told Savannahnews in an interview.

UDS Central Administration
On why a lot of institutions are seeking affiliation with the UDS, Dr. Zakaria said it is because most of the institutions are running courses and programmes similar to what the UDS is running such as nursing, management and integrated development studies.“....perhaps they think UDS has the competence to offer them technical assistance to produce quality graduates, hence their interest in affiliating with the UDS”, he noted.     

Established in May 1992 by the Government of Ghana, the UDS exist to blend the academic world with that of the community in order to provide constructive interaction between the two for the total development of Northern Ghana, in particular, and the country as a whole. 

It began academic work in September 1993 with the admission of thirty-nine (39) students into the Faculty of Agriculture, (FOA), Nyankpala campus. The Faculty of Integrated Development Studies, (FIDS), Faculty of Planning and Land Management (FPLM) and Faculty of Education (FOE), Wa, School of Business, Wa, School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS), Tamale, Faculty of Renewable Natural Resources (FRNR), Nyankpala, Faculty of Applied Sciences (FAS), Faculty of Mathematical Sciences (FMS), Navrongo and the Graduate School now in Tamale were phased in from 1994 to date.

UDS is unique compared to other public universities considering its location and multi campuses which are spread out in rural Northern Ghana where the incidence and depth of poverty is high. 

The University was borne out of the new thinking in higher education which emphasizes the need for universities to play a more active role in addressing problems of the society, particularly in the rural areas. This is reflected in its methodology of teaching, research and outreach services. The specific emphasis on practically-oriented research and field-based training is aimed at contributing towards poverty reduction in order to accelerate national development. 

The UDS has four (4) campuses, seven (7) Faculties, a Business School, one Medical School, one Graduate School and three (3) centres. Several programs are run at these places. 

The UDS also runs a community-technical interface programme. This is a combination of the academic and community-based field practical work known as the Third Trimester Field Practical Programme (TTFPP).

No comments:

Post a Comment